SOUL WOUNDS

In the past month, I’ve taken some time to reflect on my life. Looking back, I’m shocked that I made it through some of the heartbreaks I’ve experienced. I’m still here! And I know it’s only because of God! God alone is the only one that could bring me through abuse, betrayal, rejection, grief, loneliness, and all the other difficulties life has thrown my way. Yet, I haven’t been untouched by these experiences. Some of them left my soul deeply wounded and broken.

Soul wounds affect how you think and how you process the world around you. They affect your relationships and interactions with people. They affect how you view yourself and how you view God. And if they are not dealt with, they can become toxic to your soul! 

Initially, dealing with my souls wounds and finding healing was an overwhelming process. I had so much that needed to be addressed and I didn’t know where to start. I found myself wanting to ignore, deny, and pretend like everything was okay. It was tempting to embrace the whole “Maybe if I ignore it, it will go away!” sentiment because healing seemed so unreachable. But you can only ignore soul wounds for so long before they become infected and start infringing upon your life. 

I also found myself searching for the cure for my soul wounds in the wrong places. My biggest downfall was trying to find healing in people. You see, many of my wounds were given by people and subconsciously I must have thought that people could also be the antidote. I desperately grasped for the approval and affirmation of others. This led to being overly concerned about what people thought of me. To hiding my true self and becoming a people-pleaser; afraid of rejection. To allowing others to define me and also allowing others to limit me. Ultimately, this resulted in building impenetrable walls around my heart to keep people out. But what I didn’t realize was that I was also suffocating my soul.

Every so often someone would come along and coax me out from behind my walls. I would feel a burst of fresh air! But unintentionally, I would place unrealistic expectations on them to help my soul breathe and heal and those relationships would become strained. This wasn’t what I wanted but my soul wounds clouded my thinking. And with faulty thinking, I couldn’t figure out how to fix things. 

The only place I found answers and true clarity was in prayer and the Word. One of my biggest “Aha” moments, is best described by Lisa TurKeurst in her book, “Uninvited”. She says, 

I can’t expect any other person to be my soul oxygen. I can’t live as if my next breath depends on whether or not they give me enough air for my lungs not to be screaming in pain. Because here’s the thing. People don’t mind doing CPR on a crisis victim, but no person is equipped to be the constant lifeline to another. 

We must respect ourselves enough to break the pattern of placing unrealistic expectations on others…

No, it’s not wrong to need people. But some of our biggest disappointments in life are the result of expectations we have of others that they can’t ever possibly meet.”

The only lasting source of soul oxygen is found in Jesus not people! No person is equipped to fully fill us! Jesus is the only One that can breathe the breath of life into my lifeless situations! He is the only One that can be the constant flow of oxygen to my soul! The scripture affirms this when it says in Acts 17:28 (NKJV) , “for in Him we live and move and have our being,…” And He is the only source of true healing for wounded souls! 

For so long, I never grasped this. I never understood how He could fulfill me. I never comprehended His unconditional love for me. I never realized that I could be healed and whole in Him. Why? My life experiences had diminished my estimation of Him. 

But I am so thankful for the power of prayer! Through the simple act of prayer, talking to God and pouring out my heart to Him, I found revelation and healing! The Bible says in James 5:16 (NKJV), “Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.” Although this verse is talking about praying for one another that you may be healed, I believe it can apply to praying for ourselves as well. When we have fervent or active prayer, things happen. 

The key is coupling prayer with the Word. Why? This verse gives the answer,
For the word of God is living and active and full of power [making it operative, energizing, and effective]. It is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating as far as the division of the soul and spirit [the completeness of a person], and of both joints and marrow [the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and judging the very thoughts and intentions of the heart.” ‭- Hebrews‬ ‭4:12‬ ‭(AMP‬‬)

Is your soul wounded? Are you overwhelmed and don’t know where to begin? Is your soul suffocating? Activate your prayer life, get in the Word, and make Jesus the source of your soul oxygen! I know healing will happen for you! How? Because His Word says in Psalms 147:3 (NKJV), “He heals the brokenhearted And binds up their wounds.”‭‭

Healing is a journey and I am still in the process! But, I am striving each day to take steps forward! My prayer for you on your journey is found in Ephesians 3:17-19 (NKJV),

that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.”‭‭

Love & Blessings,

Fiona

To learn about how oxygen helps wound heals, check out “Why He Came“!

One thought on “SOUL WOUNDS

  1. Wow Fiona I can relate to this and you articulated it perfectly. This ministered to me. God is the only one trust can make us whole again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

