FLYING WITH A ONE YEAR OLD – PART 1

This past Christmas we took a trip to Florida and the main thing on my mind was how to get my one-year-old through the 3 hour plane ride. He is a busy guy, like any one year old, but I had this image in my head of him screaming, kicking, and crying while all the other passengers gave me angry looks. Ha! After getting over my fears, I began to look at things more practically. I decided to take an activity for every 10 minutes of the plane ride with a free 10 minutes for whatever. I also took lots of yummy snacks, drinks, and a fully equipped diaper bag. My motto is “Be prepared!” but in this instance I probably overprepared. That’s totally my personality though! Ha!

For takeoff, I gave him his nuk, favorite blanket, and his snuggly bear. I wanted him to feel relaxed and comfortable. I also had his milk/water ready in case he had ear trouble and the nuk didn’t cut it. As we took off, I told him what was happening and that the new things he was experiencing were okay. I mean I was in full “mom mode”, ready for anything.

To my surprise he fell asleep by the time we were in the air! I was not expecting that! Woohoo! You can totally see the relief on my face πŸ™‚

When he woke up, we started the activities and snack dispensing. We didn’t end up needing all of the activities I brought but here is what we did on that first flight.

1 – OPENING & CLOSING THE WINDOW

This one was a bonus! He loved doing this and it was our first “activity” on the flight.

2 – WINDOW CLINGS

He really enjoy taking these off and trying to put them back on!

3 – A SPECIAL BOOK

We made a book with pictures of our family for him for Christmas and gave it to him on the plane! He really enjoyed looking through this. He also enjoyed pointing with the stir stick πŸ˜‰

4 – PLAY DOH & STRAWS

I think he was a little too young for this activity. He enjoyed putting the straws in the play doh but thought it was much more fun to throw the play doh on the floor. We quickly moved on to something else. Ha!

5 – TAPE MEASURER

This was his favorite and kept him occupied for a while! He would pull the tape measure out and then I would push the button to retract it!

6 – LIGHT TOY

This one was fun and he liked watching the lights spins! We did this on both flights (there and back).

 

 

 

7 – SHADOWS

This was another bonus! He really enjoyed seeing his hand make shadows on the tray! Of course this was after he leaked bodily fluid all over his daddy. That was the only real snag we had on this flight! Poor daddy!


We may have done a few more activities on this flight. I will list the ones not pictured at the end πŸ™‚ All in all, our first flight went great! He was a champ and the activities and snacks helped tremendously!

On the flight back home, our little guy was sick. He threw up twice before we even left for the airport. I was really nervous about the plane ride. What if he puked all over?! Yikes! Being smashed in tight quarters with a sick kiddo…no bueno! Despite his sickness, he still handle it like a champ and we were puke-free the entire flight! Thank you Jesus for Your mercy! Here’s what we did.

8 – TAPE

This was another winner! We stuck little pieces of it everywhere and He loved peeling it off.

 

9 – QTIPS IN SPICE CONTAINER

This kept his attention longer than I expected. He was really focused as he tried to put the qtips in the holes.

10 & 11 – MAGNETS IN ALTOID TIN/ RUBBERBAND GUITAR

This only kept his interest for a short time but bought us a few more minutes. As another activity, I also had rubberbands that I put over the tin to make a mini guitar.


He ended up falling asleep on this flight as well! Yay for mom and dad!


Here are the other activities not pictured. We did use some of them but, like I said, but we didn’t end up needing all of them:

12 – POST IT NOTES

13 – SPOOL OF RIBBON

14 – WATER PAINTING

15 – STICKERS

16 – VELCRO

17 – THREADING ACTIVITY

18 – DECK OF CARDS

19 – FINGER PUPPETS

We survived our first flying experience thanks to a little preparedness and a really great kiddo! And should you ever fly with a 1 year old, I hope this gives ya some good ideas on how to keep them entertained πŸ™‚

Happy Flying!

Fiona

P.S. Look out for part 2 about our snacks and what we took in our diaper bag!

Leave a Reply

