SMALL DAYS


In my earlier post “From Striving To Surrender“, I shared what God spoke to my heart from Zechariah 4. In that same moment of prayer, I also discovered this nugget of truth that I’m sharing today.

In Zechariah 4:10 (KJV) it says, “For who hath despised the day of small things? for they shall rejoice, and shall see the plummet in the hand of Zerubbabel with those seven; they are the eyes of the Lord, which run to and fro through the whole earth.”

What is the day of small things? They are the days where you feel like you aren’t accomplishing the BIG things God has for your life. They may be the very beginning days of fulfilling your calling or the preparation days!

Sometimes I try to get ahead of myself and skip the days of small things in my life so I can do the BIG things I feel God calling me to. Have you ever done that? Being in a hurry! Rushing! Being impatient in a season of small things! I mean, it seems like everyone else is in their BIG days while I’m stuck in my small ones! These days seems slow and insignificant and wasteful! I could be doing so much more for the Kingdom! What’s the purpose? Wait…what if it means I’m not doing good enough? What if, I’m not meeting all of the requirements necessary to do BIG thing? What if….? What if…? What if…? 

Have you ever been there? Discontent in the small days? Trying to figure out why you’re there and what it all mean?

I have! At times, I have mishandled the dreams and callings God has placed in my life. I have assumed they were for my “right now”. I have been impatient and discontent and questioned and worried and so much more. 

But something stuck out to me in verse 10. The Bible talks about a plummet in the hand of Zerrubabel. What is a plummet anyway? By definition, it’s a line that had a lead weight at one end and is used to determine verticality. Builder’s  use it to measure and line things up to make sure they are straight up and down. 

So, why shouldn’t we despise the day of small things? Because, just like Zerrubabel was using the plumb line to measure and square things up for building, the small days affords us the opportunity to use the plumb line of the Spirit to align ourselves perfectly with the Lord. If we are going to fulfil our calling, we must be willing to submit ourselves to this process of preparation! 

Lord, help me be willing! Help me submit to Your process! Your ways are higher and Your plan is perfect and I trust You in my preparation and waiting! 

Love & Blessings,

Fiona

Leave a Reply

