FROM PERFECTION TO WEAKNESS TO DYNAMITE

  Too often I have reached for perfection; being completely free of flaws and defects. I tried so hard to be faultless. However, I would soon realize, time after time, that I was trying to be something I couldn’t. There is only One who is faultless and that is Jesus. That’s His role, His place. He is the perfect Lamb without blemish or spot (1 Peter 1:19)! 

Over the years, I would often feel the enemy of my soul taunting me with Matthew‬ ‭5:48‬, “Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.” I used to believe it meant that I had to be faultless, flawless, and festive. Okay, not festive! But I was on an alliteration roll! 😉 Anyway, I would try so hard to measure up and I would fail miserably. I would begrudge the fact that I was so weak. I would end up more disappointed with myself after every failed attempt. I would wonder how disappointed God must be with me too! Then truth stepped in and set me free! I studied it out and realized that Matthew 5:48 was a call to completeness not perfection; to continued growth not final attainment! 

One of my favorite passages that has brought continued revelation on this topic is ‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭12:9-10‬, “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

‭First, this shows that even if we don’t feel like we’re enough, Jesus is! His grace is sufficient! Second, it shows that there is more to weakness and brokenness than meets the eye. These things are actually catalysts. But more on that later.

I have come to understand that when you combine your weakness with God’s strength something beautiful happens. When these two collide an inner strength is born; not of ourselves but of God! A holy confidence. It’s not pride or arrogance but rather a confident reliance on God and an unwavering assurance in Him. No more walking on the eggshells of life trying not to crack them with each step forward. But rather we are freed from that as we depend on Him! No longer do we have to try and attain perfection. Instead we can embrace our weakness and confidently say, “When I am weak, then I am strong!” 

Just last week, I was digging deeper into this passage and I found that “strength” is actually defined as miraculous power! “Doo-na-mis” is the word in Greek. It’s the word that “dynamite” comes from! “Perfect” means complete or accomplished and “weakness” means feebleness of mind or body. So what the scripture is saying is that the miraculous power of God is actually accomplished through feebleness! If we want to experience the dynamite power of God, it can only come through humility, through our feebleness and frailty! Our weakness and brokenness are catalysts for God’s miraculous power! This is so powerful!

So, instead of begrudging the fact that we are weak, let’s embrace it, realizing that our weakness is the very tool that God will use to show His miraculous power in our lives! 

“…Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me…

Leave a Reply

