WHY HE CAME

  

This past Good Friday, I was sitting in prayer meditating on what Jesus did for us on the cross. I wanted to remember the sacrifice He made and I wanted to personalize how it impacts my life today; it can be easy to not fully realize the impact and depth of that day so long ago. As I sat pondering the events of the cross, the Lord began speaking to me about what the cross means for me personally.

I was thinking about the wounds I’ve experienced in life: hurtful words, abuse, rejection, abandonment, untruthfulness; to name a few. They’ve come from a variety of sources: friends, loved ones, and even complete strangers. Some of my wounds have healed up quite nicely, but there are some that are still fresh or still in the healing process. 

Isaiah 53:3-5 (NKJV) came to mind:
“He is despised and rejected by men, A Man of sorrows and acquainted with grief. And we hid, as it were, our faces from Him; He was despised, and we did not esteem Him. Surely He has borne our griefs And carried our sorrows; Yet we esteemed Him stricken, Smitten by God, and afflicted. But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; The chastisement for our peace was upon Him, And by His stripes we are healed.”

‭As I read this, I found comfort knowing that He carried the burden of all our grief and sorrows to the cross; the burden of my wounds. As I dug deeper, I found that the word “grief” meant disease, ailment, anxiety, or calamity and the word “sorrows” meant anguish, affliction, grief, or pain. As I thought about the weight of those words, I wondered, HOW do His stripes bring healing to the wounds I have today? 

I started thinking about wound healing in our physical bodies. I did a little research and found that two major elements to wound healing are BLOOD FLOW and OXYGEN. Without these two things, healing is impaired. The blood flow is especially important because it delivers all the healing properties such as nutrients, blood-borne oxygen, white blood cells (the wound protector), and red blood cells (the wound repairer)! 

There is often a correlation between what happens in the physical and what happens in the spiritual and I started to see the insight the Lord was giving me.

In order for us to be healed of our spiritual or emotional wounds, we also need blood flow; the BLOOD that flowed from Calvary! The precious blood of Jesus flows to our wounds and brings healing properties and life! His blood flows and protects and repairs our wounds! Now the words of the scripture began to come alive to me, “…and by His stripes we are healed!”

Not only that but what He did on the cross opened up the door for us to be able to receive His Spirit! And He gave us His Spirit to be OXYGEN to our very souls. Just as He breathed the breathe of life into Adam, His Spirit is now available to breathe life into the wounds of our heart. 

His blood. His Spirit. These two combined is what can make us whole! I sat there in awe of this beautiful revelation! This is why He came: to be the Healer of our wounds! 

One thought on “WHY HE CAME

  1. Pingback: SOUL WOUNDS | Down Sunnyview Lane

Leave a Reply

