A BEAUTIFUL FRIENDSHIP & MIRACLE TWINS

309018_10150386366037445_535419146_n

My dear friend from “Doctors Visit & The Silver Lining” willingly allowed me in to so much of her pregnancy experience. She allowed me to ask questions and she would share with me her thoughts along the way. It was so amazing to think that two little peanuts were growing inside her tummy.

She did really well for the most part of her pregnancy but then ran into some complications towards the end and ended up having to be on bedrest. While she was on bedrest, I would grocery shop for her, pick up supplies at Walmart, or take her  to doctor’s appointments.  I was so thrilled to be able to help in any way I could! And the best part was, she let me. She treated me like family. I had never really had anyone allow me into their life like this before. It was such a special time for me and the beginning of a beautiful friendship!

I remember the first ultrasound she invited me to see! I will never, ever forget that moment. It was so miraculous to see two healthy babies moving around on the screen! It was hard to hold back the tears.

As things progressed and doctor’s shared EVERYTHING that could possibly go wrong, I just tried to encourage her and remind her that God was in control. Though the scare tactics were frustrating, we were seeing a miracle unfold right before our eyes.

She ended up moving from bedrest at home to bedrest in the hospital. I visited her as often as I could and would always try to bring a treat! She would share with me how she was doing and the lastest update and sometimes I would even get to hear the babies heartbeats. Another miraculous thing!

Since she was in the hospital and on bedrest, me and some of the other ladies from the church ended up planning her baby shower to take place at a room in the hospital. I had so much fun planning  all the details! I remember them wheeling her down to the room. She seemed to really enjoy herself and she was all smiles and maybe a few happy tears. It was such a great day and I was so glad she was able to laugh and have fun amidst all the stress she was facing with pregnancy complications and bedrest. It was a beautiful and joyous day!

And then, in the fall of 2011, the moment came, and two precious little girls entered the world! A moment that we all had prayed for! The most amazing part was they were perfectly healthy and didn’t even need to go to the NICU, despite what doctors believed. Evidence of God’s hand in the situation.

I remember seeing them hours after they had made their grand entrance! I felt something I hadn’t felt since my brother was born, and the tears began to flow! They were beautiful! I held them in amazement! So many prayers had already been prayed for these little ones and now they were here and absolutely perfect in every way! My heart felt like it would burst with love!

As I looked around the room that day, there was family and friends all around, and we were all beaming! And then there was my precious friend, who was brave beyond belief and so beautiful to me in that moment! I will never forget the joy of that moment!

These special moments that my precious friend invited me into became my silver lining as my husband and I embarked upon our infertility journey! Since that time, each moment spent with this family has brought a joy that I’ve  held onto and treasured amidst my own heartache. I am forever grateful that God gave me a friend I can be “myself” with; she’s really more like a sister! Her family has been a beacon of hope, a safe place, and a ray of sunshine in the midst of cloudy days!

Blessings,

~ Fiona

Leave a Reply

