COPYCAT

copycat

 

I am a great copycat. Give me a recipe to follow and I can pretty much recreate it. You can imagine how much fun Pinterest is for me. There are so many ideas to duplicate. As an expert copycat, I can look at something and make a pretty great copy of it.

I like being a copycat because it is safe. It means that someone else has already done the work, the testing, trial and error, and that for the most part what you attempt to do will turn out. Yes, there is still room for personalization, but in safe amounts.

I’ve learned that in order to be a good copycat you must continually compare your work to the original. This can be exciting when things are really shaping up but frustrating when things aren’t turning out so well. I have this image in my mind of all those Pinterest Fails…lol! Sometimes your best efforts just aren’t enough.

Every so often, despite my copycat comfort zone, I have this desire to create a masterpiece of my own; an original. I start out well but often get discouraged by the time and effort it takes or the obstacles I face. I either end up rushing it and it only turns out okay or I simply give up. Afterwards, I remind myself that the copycat way is the best way because it is safe with less obstacles and less room for error.

Although being a copycat might be okay when it comes to things like Pinterest crafts and recipes, it can be detrimental when it comes to the bigger areas of our lives. If I’m honest with myself, I can look back at times in my life where I’ve tried to be a copycat; especially when it comes to my spiritual identity. If I rephrased the statement above to fit this concept, it would go something like this…

I am a great copycat. Give me someone that is more spiritual than me or more talented than I am and I will pretty much try to imitate them because of my insecurity. I like being a copycat because it is safe. It means that someone else has already done the work, the testing, trial and error, and that for the most part who you attempt to be will be accepted. You never have to put yourself out there. Yes, there is still room for personalization, but in safe amounts.

 I’ve learned that in order to be a good copycat you must continually compare yourself to other people.

 Every so often, despite my copycat comfort zone, I have this desire to be the masterpiece God created me to be; an original. However I quickly get discouraged by the time and effort it takes or the obstacles I face and I simply give up. Afterwards, I remind myself that the copycat way is the best way because it is safe with less obstacles and less room for error.”

Sounds a lot different, huh. I know I’m not alone in this. I know there are many who have struggled with or are currently struggling with their identity in Christ. But now more than ever, I believe God is calling us to abandon the comfort of our copycat tendencies and be original. Let’s do this together. Let’s commit to give notice to the copycat in us and embrace who God created us to be individually! Hello, my name is Fiona, and I am an original.

Have a Blessed Day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

