Mocha La-La-Latte

I really like getting specialty coffee drinks but I don’t like spending the money for them. So, this week I decided to make my own! The results were awesome and the drink came out with better flavor and less calories than a similar drink at  your regular coffee shop…I’m thinking of a place that starts with “S” and ends with “tarbucks”…lol! Anyway, I’m really happy that I’ll be saving money while still enjoying “yummy” coffee for less calories! You can’t beat that! This one is a keeper in my book!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tsp of good cocoa powder (Ghiradelli or Hershey’s Special Dark) (You can add 2 tsps for a chocolate-y treat…a little more calories of course)
  • 3 tsp of sugar
  • 4 oz of expresso
  • 1 cup of skim milk
  • ¼ tsp of pure vanilla extract
  • Whipped cream (optional)
  • Chocolate sprinkles or shavings (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add the cocoa powder and sugar to your coffee cup.
  2. Add the expresso and stir until well blended.    
  3. In a separate container, warm up the milk using whatever method you like: milk frother, microwave, stovetop, etc (The milk frother would probably be best but I don’t have one so I use the microwave)
  4. Add the milk to your cup and stir.
  5. Lastly, add the pure vanilla, stir, and enjoy!

This recipe serves one and is approximately 145 calories with one teaspoon of cocoa powder and 150 calories with two, excluding the whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles/shavings. The calories will also vary depending on which brand of cocoa powder you use. Can you tell I’m a calorie counter…lol! At any rate…Happy drinking (coffee drinking that is)! Just had to clarify 😉

4 thoughts on “Mocha La-La-Latte

  1. Fiona, this is definitely the BEST cornbread recipe I have ever tiried. The proof was Tom’s reaction. He literally grunted and groaned through the entire first piece he ate. Your cornbread recipe + cast iron pan = deliciousness! It was the perfect accompaniment to my chicken tortilla soup. Thanks again for sharing!

    Like

  2. Fiona,

    I am really enjoying your posts! I’m planning on making your corn bread tonight. I have tried several recipes and haven’t found one I really like. Have you ever tried making it in a cast iron pan? I have a friend who swears by this method. I might try it with your recipe tonight. I’ll let you know how it turns out! Keep the recipes coming!

    Rachelle

    Like

    • Thanks Rachelle! I’ve never tried making cornbread in a cast iron. Can’t wait to hear how it turns out! I may have to try it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

