Perfect French Toast

On Sunday, I made French toast for breakfast! It was “mmm, mmm good”! I never used to be able to make French toast. It would always turn out really “eggy”. I felt like I was eating scrambled eggs with syrup! Yuk! But then I found this recipe and it comes out perfect every time! HA! I know, you’re probably thinking who needs a recipe for French toast! Well I did…lol! And I found the perfect one thanks to Alton Brown! So if you’re “French toast inept” like I once was, there is hope! Check out this recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

  • Loaf of sourdough bread
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 T honey (orange blossom)
  • Butter
  • Syrup

DIRECTIONS:

The night before –

  1. Cut sourdough bread into slices and set on oven rack to dry out.
  2. For batter, mix 3 large eggs, 1 cup of half and half , 1 tsp of salt, and a T of honey (orange blossom). Whisk until smooth. Put in a container and place in fridge.

The day of –

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Soak bread on each side for 30 seconds.
  3. In a skillet, melt 1 T butter over medium-low heat. Use a pat of butter for each batch. (I don’t use this much butter, I just coat the pan with a thin layer)
  4. Add 2 pieces to the pan and cook for 2-3 min on each side.
  5. When finish put French toast in the oven directly on the rack (place pan underneath to catch butter drippings) and bake for 5 min.
One thought on “Perfect French Toast

  1. This is the best french toast I have ever eaten. This recipe is a keeper if you want good french toast every time. Yumm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

