Slow Cooker Steel Cut Oats

Here is a slow-cooker recipe for steel cut oats. I like to portion the oats out after they’re cooked and freeze them. Then I can just pop one out of the freezer in the morning and heat it up in the microwave.

Yield: 4 Servings (can double) 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup old fashioned steel cut oats
  • 4 cups water
  • Cinnamon, to taste
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup half and half
  • Pinch of salt, to taste

DIRECTIONS:

Just before going to bed combined oats, water, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Set on low. In morning stir in salt and half and half.  Serve warm.

You can also add in anything you like to this recipe: nuts, fruit, etc.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Steel Cut Oats

  1. Do you use the flat oats or the little ones that look like the grain? I guess either would work. Thanks for the recipe. I’ve tried this before but they burn to the bottom of the pot. If you lived in Scotland in the 1800’s you would have put the cooked oats in a drawer and sliced off a serving each day for breakfast! No kidding.

    Like

    • They are the “little ones that look like the grain”. The container of steel cut oats I have right now actually says “Irish-style Oats – Steel Cut”. I guess steel cut oats are often called Irish or Scottish Oats due to the traditional use in those countries. Although I don’t think I’ll attempt putting them in a drawer…LOL! The brand I have right now is “Country Choice Organic Steel Cut Oats”. Hope this helps and good luck with the recipe. Let me know how it turns out ; )

      Like

Leave a Reply

