Brown Lentil Soup

Tonight I made lentil soup! Yum!  This is a recipe I got from my mother-in-law. I have to admit I was a little hesitant to try it when I first got the recipe because its greenish-brown color didn’t look very appetizing. However, I was pleasantly surprised at its unique flavor and how easy it was to make! This is now a staple in our house and a healthier meal the whole family enjoys! It’s also perfect for a meatless meal!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 ½ lbs. brown lentils
  • 2 large onions
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 4 T olive oil
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 dessertspoon flour
  • 2 dessertspoons wine vinegar (we like a little more vinegar in ours, it gives it a little more kick)
  • 4 pints water (I like to use half chicken broth, half water)
  • salt and pepper
  • carrots (if desired)(I haven’t tried it with carrots yet)
  • 2 T tomato paste (if desired)(I use this if I have it on hand)

DIRECTIONS:

1.    Wash the lentils well and put them into a pan of cold water.

2.    Bring to a boil. Drain off the water and throw it away.

3.    Slice the onions and garlic cloves thinly and add to contents of the pan with the bay leaves, olive oil, and water.  (I puree the onions and garlic since my husband is not too fond of chunks)

4.    Bring to boiling point and simmer gently for about one hour or until the lentils are soft.

5.    This depends on the freshness of the lentils.

6.    Mix the flour and vinegar to a smooth paste and add to the soup. (If desired, two tablespoons of tomato paste may be mixed with the flour and vinegar before adding to the soup)

7.    Season to taste, and cook for 10 more minutes.

You can serve this with a light salad and a pita bread! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

