Chicken Pesto Spaghetti

Man, it seems like I’m forever trying to use up leftovers! I hate wasting! I had a little leftover heavy whipping cream, spaghetti, and pesto. So, what else would be better than to put it all together for a great dinner. My husband and I like to get the pesto cavatappi at Noodles and Company every so often. This is my version of it! And I think it’s even better!

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • Pasta, any will do, anything with a spiral really holds the sauce, you could try rotini, cavatappi, or like me plain ol’ spaghetti ( enough for four)
  • 2-4 Chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream (to make it lighter use 1 cup of half and half)
  • Pesto ( you can buy this from the store or make it, I used 2 frozen cubes of pesto I had previously made)
  • ½ – 1 cup of reduced –sodium chicken broth
  • Canola oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Parmesan

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions.
  2. In the meantime, sear chicken in a little canola oil. Season to taste. ( I used a little onion salt and pepper)
  3. Once chicken is cooked through, add pesto and chicken broth.
  4. Let reduce a little bit, then add cream, and again let reduce.
  5. Finally add the “al dente” pasta, and cook until pasta is well coated and sauce is reduced to your liking. (We like our pasta pretty saucy so if you don’t you can add in more pasta to even it out)
  6. Serve warm and top with parmesan.

 

Cooking should be flexible! You shouldn’t have to stick to one formula! That’s why I often say use whatever you have on hand! It teaches you how to adapt a recipe and make it your own! This one is a family favorite! Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

